Happy Thanksgiving

A day for giving thanks, this year I have a laundry list.  Foremost as crazy as they are I am thankful for family.  Without my family I would be homeless.  Friendship has been the mainstay of my year.  Most of my friends are on line, there are a few here in my everyday life.  New friends, old friends, their support and love has kept me waking up everyday.  I shall not drag you through the sordid events of the past year at this time, but I will say tumultuous has new meaning for me.   This is a poem for you as I have no means of coming round with a bottle of this or covered dish filled with chocolate chips or even having you ’round for a meal designed to put you in a food coma and keep you coming back.  My motto: You will never leave my table hungry, but you will always leave it wanting more, and YES I am just that good.

Heat from the kitchen pours through the house

As wine pours from bottles

Filling glasses

Glasses steam as the cook leans over

The pans and pots

Smells of butter, onion, sautee

Roasting turkey flowing over with sausage and herb stuffing

The pounding of children’s feet as the run front door to back

Shrieking like Indians wanting to scalp Pilgrims

The dog lurks under the kitchen table

Laying in wait for scraps from the mistress’  hand

Hands that pull you close

Into arms that pour heat through your body as they welcome

A quick buss on the cheeks

A smile that spreads and melts hearts like butter in a warm pan

Stray fingers pinch filberts and pecans from bowls on end tables

The odd body wanders through the cooks domain

Pulling forks and spoons from drawers

Dipping and sampling the tantalizing wares in

The pots and pans.

As if by magic or unspoken command

Those women of a certain age appear

Setting the table, plating the food, herding the children and all the wayward brood

The table it bends under the weight

Pointless flames on candles flicker as a hush fills the room

Blessings and thanks are spoken

By one for all

The proclamation done the Turkey is carved

The ballet of food begins

Arms crossing to pass dishes

Of this and that

The ritual of a meal at a table

As old as time

Offers comfort anyone can find

It is this moment

This frozen tableau of a feast

Snippet of memory with sound and smell

Stills the mind, calms the sea

Clears the skies of rain and cloud

Shines like sun on a meadow

or warms as heat from a fire

And it is in this moment that I am thankful for you.

Leave a Reply

